Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

US$75k Cundill History Prize finalists announced

The three finalists for the 2021 Cundill History Prize, which rewards ‘the best history writing in English’, have been announced.

The finalists are:

  • Survivors: Children’s lives after the Holocaust (Rebecca Clifford, Yale University Press)
  • The Horde: How the Mongols changed the world (Marie Favereau, Belknap Press)
  • Blood on the River: A chronicle of mutiny and freedom on the wild coast (Marjoleine Kars, The New Press).

The winner, awarded US$75,000 (A$102,900), will be announced on 2 December. Two runners-up will each receive US$10,000 (A$13,700).

Administered by McGill University in Montreal, the Cundill Prize is awarded annually to an individual from any country for a book that has had or is likely to have ‘a profound literary, social and academic impact in the area of history’. For more information about the prize, visit the university’s website here.


Category: International news