Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2021 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:


  • A Treacherous Country (K M Kruimink, A&U)
  • In the Time of Foxes (Jo Lennan, Scribner)
  • Lucky’s (Andrew Pippos, Picador)
  • The Bass Rock (Evie Wyld, Vintage)
  • The Labyrinth (Amanda Lohrey, Text)


  • Change Machine (Jaya Savige, UQP)
  • Homer Street (Laurie Duggan, Giramondo)
  • Nothing to Declare (Mags Webster, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Shorter Lives (John A Scott, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • The Strangest Place: New and selected poems (Stephen Edgar, Black Pepper)


  • Flight Lines: Across the globe on a journey with the astonishing ultramarathon birds (Andrew Darby, A&U)
  • The Altar Boys (Suzanne Smith, ABC Books)
  • The Details: On love, death and reading (Tegan Bennett Daylight, Scribner)
  • The Stranger Artist: Life at the edge of Kimberley painting (Quentin Sprague, Hardie Grant)
  • Truganini: Journey through the apocalypse (Cassandra Pybus, A&U)

Australian history

  • Ceremony Men: Making ethnography and the return of the Strehlow collection (Jason M Gibson, State University of New York Press)
  • Pathfinders: A history of Aboriginal trackers in NSW (Michael Bennett, NewSouth Publishing)
  • People of the River: Lost worlds of early Australia (Grace Karskens, A&U)
  • Representing Australian Aboriginal Music and Dance 1930-1970 (Amanda Harris, Bloomsbury)
  • The Convict Valley: The bloody struggle on Australia’s early frontier (Mark Dunn, A&U)

YA literature

  • Loner (Georgina Young, Text)
  • Metal Fish, Falling Snow (Cath Moore, Text)
  • The End of the World is Bigger than Love (Davina Bell, Text)
  • The F Team (Rawah Arja, Giramondo)
  • When Rain Turns to Snow (Jane Godwin, Lothian)

Children’s literature

  • Fly on the Wall (Remy Lai, Walker Books)
  • How to Make a Bird (Meg McKinlay, illus by Matt Ottley, Walker Books Australia)
  • The January Stars (Kate Constable, A&U)
  • The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (Jaclyn Moriarty, illus by Kelly Canby, A&U)
  • The Year the Maps Changed (Danielle Binks, Lothian)

The winners in each category receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers each receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free.


Category: Local news