Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australians nominated for 2022 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Six Australian authors, illustrators and organisations have been announced as candidates for the 2022 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s richest prize for children’s literature.

The Australian candidates are:

  • Jeannie Baker
  • Ursula Dubosarsky
  • Susanne Gervay
  • The Indigenous Literacy Foundation
  • Robert Ingpen
  • Margo Lanagan.

Five of the 2022 Australian nominees were also nominated for the 2021 award, which carries a cash prize of five million krona (A$781,160). A total of 282 candidates from 71 countries were nominated for this year’s prize, with Russia leading the nominations with 18 candidates, followed by the UK with 17 and the US with 14.

To view the full list see the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award website.

The winner will be announced on 22 March 2022.


Category: Awards Junior Local news