Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Deborah Cass Prize 2021 shortlist announced

Writers Victoria and the Deborah Cass Prize Committee have announced the shortlist for the 2021 Deborah Cass Prize for emerging writers from migrant backgrounds.

The shortlisted works and their authors are:

  • ‘Independencia’ by Bryant Apolonio
  • ‘The Seconds of Holroyd House’ by Patrick Arulanandam
  • ‘Magic Waters’ by Sam Elkin
  • ‘On the Tail of the Firebird’ by Irina Frolova
  • ‘Motherlode: memory, mothers and migration’ by Maria Katasabanis
  • ‘The Dreaming’ by Gary Paramanathan
  • ‘The Lollipop Lady’ by Mesh Tennakoon
  • ‘The Marigold Girl’ by Gisele Weishan
  • ‘Si Bo – Fourth Uncle – Eagle Flight’ by Chamberlain Zhang.

‘The shortlisted works explore diverse themes in powerful and subtle ways, all creatively casting a strong light on the contemporary migrant experience,’ said the shortlisting panel.

The winning author will receive $3000 and a three-month mentorship with an established writer and the opportunity for their wining entry to be published in Mascara Literary Review, while Black Inc. will consider their manuscript for publication.

The winner and runners-up will again be judged by Melanie Cheng, Lee Kofman and Sisonke Msimang.

The winner of last year’s prize was Anith Mukherjee for his story ‘I Am Full of Love’.

The 2021 winner will be announced at an online event on Wednesday 17 November. For more information, visit the Deborah Cass Prize website.


Category: Awards Local news