Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

National Book Awards 2021 winners

In the US, the winners of the 2021 National Book Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Hell of a Book (Jason Mott, Trapeze)


  • All That She Carried: The journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black family keepsake (Tiya Miles, Random House)


  • Floaters (Martín Espada, W W Norton)

Translated Literature

  • Winter in Sokcho (Elisa Shua Dusapin, trans by Aneesa Abbas Higgins, Scribe)

Young People’s Literature

  • Last Night at the Telegraph Club (Malinda Lo, Hodder Paperbacks)

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in October.

Two lifetime achievement medals were also awarded. Japanese-American writer Karen Tei Yamashita was awarded the medal for distinguished contribution to American letters, and Nancy Pearl was awarded the medal for outstanding services to the literary community for her work as an author, critic and former director of Seattle Public Library’s Washington Center for the Book.

The winners were announced on 17 November, the second year in a row that the awards have been announced online. The awards, now in their 72nd year, are administered by the US National Book Foundation.

For more information about the winners, click here.


Category: International news