Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Costa Book Awards shortlists announced

In the UK, the shortlists for the 2021 Costa Book Awards have been announced.

Shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award are:

  • Unsettled Ground (Claire Fuller, Fig Tree)
  • The High House (Jessie Greengrass, Swift Press)
  • The Fortune Men (Nadifa Mohamed, Viking)
  • The Island of Missing Trees (Elif Shafak, Viking).

Shortlists were also announced for the First Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book Awards. In total, 20 books were shortlisted. View the full list of shortlisted titles here.

Established in 1971, the Costa book awards recognise some of the ‘most enjoyable’ books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

The category winners will be announced on 4 January 2022 and will each receive £5000 (A$9250). The overall winner, who will receive an additional £30,000 (A$55,520), will be announced on 1 February.


Category: International news