Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hammer, Jubelin joint 2021 Danger Prize winners

Trust (Chris Hammer, A&U) and I Catch Killers (Gary Jubelin with Dan Box, HarperCollins) have jointly won the 2021 Danger Prize.

Administered by the BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival, the award will be presented on Saturday, 4 December at the State Library of New South Wales, as part of the festival.

‘After awarding the prize for four years, the judges were pleased to be able to give it for the first time to a novel,’ said the festival organisers, describing Trust as ‘an exploration of the seamier side of Sydney even in the glittering corporate towers and the mansions of haute society’. ‘We hope this inspires other novelists to see Sydney as a crime scene,’ said BAD chair Sue Turnbull.

Jubelin’s autobiography I Catch Killers, written with journalist Dan Box, ‘is the memoir of a homicide detective detailing child abductions, organised crime hits and domestic murders’. ‘Jubelin is a classic Sydney character,’ said BAD board member Michael Duffy. ‘This book brings every aspect of this to life, its courage, its risk-taking, and its colour.’

The Danger Prize is awarded to the best book, TV series, podcast or film about Sydney crime, released in the past financial year. The shortlist for the 2021 award also included The Second Son (Loraine Peck, Text), The Husband Poisoner (Tanya Bretherton, Hachette), Barrenjoey Road (Neil Mercer & Ruby Jones, ABC Books) and season three of Foxtel series Mr Inbetween.

Last year’s winner was Bretherton for The Killing Streets (Hachette).

The BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival runs 2–5 December.


Category: Awards Local news