Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced. Presented by the South Australian government, the biennial awards offer a total prize pool of $167,500.

The shortlisted titles are:

Children’s literature award ($15,000)

  • Bindi (Kirli Saunders, Magabala)
  • How to Write the Soundtrack to Your Life (Fiona Hardy, Affirm)
  • Iceberg (Claire Saxby, A&U)
  • The Republic of Birds (Jessica Miller, Text)
  • Summer Time (Hilary Bell, UNSW Press)
  • We Are Wolves (Katrina Nannestad, HarperCollins)

Young adult fiction award ($15,000)

  • The Boy from the Mish (Gary Lonesborough, A&U)
  • The Gaps (Leanne Hall, Text)
  • Metal Fish, Falling Snow (Cath Moore, Text)
  • Off the Map (Scot Gardner, A&U)
  • This is How We Change the Ending (Vikki Wakefield, Text)
  • When We Are Invisible (Claire Zorn, UQP)

Fiction award ($15,000)

  • Cherry Beach (Laura McPhee-Browne, Text)
  • Murmurations (Carol Lefevre, Spinifex Press)
  • The Rain Heron (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Rise and Shine (Patrick Allington, Scribe)
  • Song of the Crocodile (Nardi Simpson, Hachette)
  • The Yield (Tara June Winch, Penguin)

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • Errant Night (Jerzy Beaumont, Recent Work Press)
  • Fifteeners (Jordie Albiston, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • A History of What I’ll Become (Jill Jones, UWAP)
  • Homecoming (Elfie Shiosaki, Magabala)
  • Notes Towards the Dreambook of Endings (Peter Boyle, Vagabond Press)
  • Salute (Ken Bolton, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Throat (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)

Nonfiction award ($15,000)

  • Fathoms: The world in the whale (Rebecca Giggs, Scribe)
  • Fury (Kathryn Heyman, A&U)
  • Olive Cotton: A life in photography (Helen Ennis, HarperCollins)
  • In Search of the Woman Who Sailed the World (Danielle Clode, Pan Macmillan)
  • White Tears/Brown Scars (Ruby Hamad, MUP)
  • Yornadaiyn Woolagoodja (Yornadaiyn Woolagoodja, Magabala).

The following awards were open to South Australian writers:

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • ‘Calendar Days’ by Peter Beaglehole
  • ‘Recalibrate’ by Lucy Combe

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • ‘Chlorophyll and Casein’ by Rachael Mead
  • ‘Clutch feathers. Draw breath’ by Corrie Hosking
  • ‘The Comforting Weight of Water’ by Roanna McClelland
  • ‘The Guggenheim’ by Heather Taylor-Johnson.

The winners, including the recipients of the Barbara Hanrahan, Max Fatchen and Tangkanungku Pintyanthi fellowships, each worth $15,000, will be announced in a special ceremony at Adelaide Writers’ Week on Saturday, 5 March 2022 as part of the Adelaide Festival. For more information, visit the State Library of South Australia website.


Category: Awards Local news