Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ockham NZ Book Awards 2022 longlists announced

The longlists for the 2022 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards have been announced.

The longlisted titles in each category are:

Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction

  • A Good Winter (Gigi Fenster, Text)
  • Aljce in Therapy Land (Alice Tawhai, Lawrence & Gibson)
  • Entanglement (Bryan Walpert, Mākaro Press)
  • Everything Changes (Stephanie Johnson, Random House NZ)
  • Greta and Valdin (Rebecca C Reilly, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Kurangaituku (Whiti Hereaka, Huia Publishers)
  • Loop Tracks (Sue Orr, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • She’s a Killer (Kirsten McDougall, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • The Pink Jumpsuit (Emma Neale, Quentin Wilson Publishing)
  • Unsheltered (Clare Moleta, Scribner Australia)

General Nonfiction Award

  • After Dark (Annette Lees, Potton & Burton)
  • Bloody Woman (Lana Lopesi, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Come Back to Mona Vale (Alexander McKinnon, Otago University Press)
  • Enough Horizon: The life and work of Blanche Baughan (Carol Markwell, the Cuba Press)
  • From the Centre: A writer’s life (Patricia Grace, Penguin)
  • He Kupu Taurangi: Treaty settlements and the future of Aotearoa New Zealand (Christopher Finlayson & James Christmas, Huia Publishers)
  • Helen Kelly: Her life (Rebecca Macfie, Awa Press)
  • The Alarmist: Fifty years measuring climate change (Dave Lowe, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • The Mirror Book (Charlotte Grimshaw, Vintage)
  • Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo nō ngā Pakanga o Aotearoa (Vincent O’Malley, Bridget Williams Books)

Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry

  • Bird Collector (Alison Glenny, Compound Press)
  • Ghosts (Siobhan Harvey, Otago University Press)
  • Party Legend (Sam Duckor-Jones, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Rangikura (Tayi Tibble, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Sea-light (Dinah Hawken, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Sleeping with Stones (Serie Barford, Anahera Press)
  • The Sea Walks into a Wall (Anne Kennedy, Auckland University Press)
  • Tōku Pāpā (Ruby Solly, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Tumble (Joanna Preston, Otago University Press)
  • Whai (Nicole Titihuia Hawkins, We Are Babies Press)

Booksellers Aotearoa New Zealand Award for Illustrated Nonfiction

  • Bill Hammond: Across the evening sky (Peter Vangioni with Tony de Lautour, Rachael King, Nic Low, Paul Scofield & Ariana Tikao, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)
  • Conversātiō: In the company of bees (Anne Noble with Zara Stanhope & Anna Brown, Massey University Press)
  • Dressed: Fashionable dress in Aotearoa New Zealand 1840 to 1910 (Claire Regnault, Te Papa Press)
  • He Ringatoi o ngā Tūpuna: Isaac Coates and his Māori portraits (Hilary & John Mitchell, Potton & Burton)
  • Hei Taonga mā ngā Uri Whakatipu | Treasures for the Rising Generation (ed by Wayne Ngata, Anne Salmond, Natalie Robertson, Amiria Salmond, Monty Soutar, Billie Lythberg, James Schuster & Conal McCarthy, Te Papa Press)
  • Joanna Margaret Paul: Imagined in the context of a room (Lauren Gutsell, Lucy Hammonds & Greg Donson, Dunedin Public Art Gallery)
  • NUKU: Stories of 100 Indigenous women (Qiane Matata-Sipu, QIANE+co)
  • Shifting Grounds: Deep histories of Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland (Lucy Mackintosh, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Te Puna Waiora: The distinguished weavers of Te Kāhui Whiritoi (Ngāhuia Te Awekōtuku, Donna Campbell, Awhina Tamarapa & Nathan Pōhio, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)
  • The Architect and the Artists: Hackshaw, McCahon, Dibble (Bridget Hackshaw, Massey University Press).

This year, the prize money for the Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction has increased from NZ$55,000 to NZ$60,000; the winners in the remaining three categories each receive NZ$10,000.

Shortlists of four titles in each category will be announced on 2 March, with the winners to be announced at a public ceremony on 11 May during the 2022 Auckland Writers Festival.

For more information about the 2022 Ockham Book Awards, see the website.


Category: Awards Local news