Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ockham NZ Book Awards 2022 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2022 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted books, chosen from longlists announced in January, are:

Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction

  • A Good Winter (Gigi Fenster, Text)
  • Entanglement (Bryan Walpert, Mākaro Press)
  • Greta and Valdin (Rebecca C Reilly, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Kurangaituku (Whiti Hereaka, Huia Publishers)

General Nonfiction Award

  • From the Centre: A writer’s life (Patricia Grace, Penguin)
  • The Alarmist: Fifty years measuring climate change (Dave Lowe, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • The Mirror Book (Charlotte Grimshaw, Vintage)
  • Voices from the New Zealand Wars | He Reo nō ngā Pakanga o Aotearoa (Vincent O’Malley, Bridget Williams Books)

Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry

  • Rangikura (Tayi Tibble, Te Herenga Waka University Press)
  • Sleeping with Stones (Serie Barford, Anahera Press)
  • The Sea Walks into a Wall (Anne Kennedy, Auckland University Press)
  • Tumble (Joanna Preston, Otago University Press)

Booksellers Aotearoa New Zealand Award for Illustrated Nonfiction

  • Dressed: Fashionable dress in Aotearoa New Zealand 1840 to 1910 (Claire Regnault, Te Papa Press)
  • NUKU: Stories of 100 Indigenous women (Qiane Matata-Sipu, QIANE+co)
  • Shifting Grounds: Deep histories of Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland (Lucy Mackintosh, Bridget Williams Books)
  • The Architect and the Artists: Hackshaw, McCahon, Dibble (Bridget Hackshaw, Massey University Press).

In 2022 the prize money for the Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction has increased from NZ$55,000 to NZ$60,000. The winners in the remaining three categories each receive NZ$10,000.

The winners will be announced at a public ceremony on 11 May during the 2022 Auckland Writers Festival.

For more information about this year’s shortlists, see the NZ Book Awards Trust website.


Category: Awards Local news