Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature winners announced

The winners of the 2022 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced. Presented biennially by the South Australian government, the awards offer a total prize pool of $167,500.

The winning books are:

Premier’s Award for best overall published work ($25,000)

Children’s literature award ($15,000)

Fiction award ($15,000)

  • The Yield (Tara June Winch, Penguin)

Young adult fiction award ($15,000)

Nonfiction award ($15,000)

  • Olive Cotton: A life in photography (Helen Ennis, HarperCollins)

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

  • Fifteeners (Jordie Albiston, Puncher & Wattmann)

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award ($12,500)

  • Calendar Days (Peter Beaglehole)

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award ($10,000)

  • ‘The Comforting Weight of Water’ (Roanna McClelland)

Max Fatchen Fellowship for a South Australian writer for young people ($15,000)

  • ‘Beasts’ (Poppy Nwosu)

Barbara Hanrahan Fellowship for a South Australian writer ($15,000)

  • ‘The Art of Breaking Ice’ (Rachael Mead)

Tangkanungku Pintyanthi Fellowship for a South Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writer ($15,000)

  • ‘Lovely’s Valley’ (Karen Wyld).

The winners, chosen from shortlists announced in January, were presented at a ceremony on the opening day of Adelaide Writers’ Week as part of the 2022 Adelaide Festival. Poet Jordie Albiston, who passed away a few days before the ceremony, was posthumously awarded the John Bray Poetry Award.

For more information on the winning titles, see the festival’s website.


Category: Awards Local news