Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Murail, Lee win 2022 Hans Christian Andersen Award

French children’s writer Marie-Aude Murail and Korean artist Suzy Lee have been named the winners of the 2022 IBBY (International Board on Books for Young People) Hans Christian Andersen author and illustrator award respectively.

Murail, whose career spans 30 years, is the author of nearly 100 books for children and young adults, while Lee’s works include the ‘Border’ trilogy of wordless picture books: Mirror, Wave and Shadow.

The winners were chosen from 62 candidates from 33 countries, submitted by IBBY national sections. Margaret Wild and Tohby Riddle were nominated by IBBY Australia as the 2022 Australian candidates, with Wild going on to be shortlisted for the writer’s award.

The Hans Christian Andersen Awards are presented biennially to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature. The full list of nominees was announced in late 2020.

The previous winners of the Hans Christian Andersen Award were US writer Jacqueline Woodson and Swiss illustrator Albertine.

For more information about the winners and shortlist see the IBBY website.

Pictured L–R: Murail, Lee.


Category: International news