Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Beatnik named Bologna publisher of the year, Oceania

Aotearoa New Zealand publisher Beatnik Publishing is the winner of the Oceania category of the 2022 Bologna Prize for the Best Children’s Publisher of the Year.

The Bologna Children’s Book Fair, which established the prize in collaboration with the Italian Publishers Association and the International Publishers Association, said Beatnik has been ‘enriching New Zealand’s publishing scene over the past 15 years with its keen eye for quality and beauty’ and that the publisher ‘works closely with authors, poets, artists and local businesses to give life to books with a refined design and rich content’.

Fellow Aotearoa New Zealand press Huia Publishers and Australian publishers Affirm Press, EK Books and Magabala Books were shortlisted alongside Beatnik in this year’s Oceania category.

The 2022 winners in all categories are:

  • Africa: New Africa Books, Republic of South Africa
  • Asia: Samir Éditeur, Lebanon
  • Central/South America: El Naranjo, Mexico
  • Europe: Liels un mazs, Latvia
  • North America: Monsieur Ed, Canada
  • Oceania: Beatnik Publishing, New Zealand.

Established in 2013, the Bologna Prize is voted for by publishers and publishing associations, and highlights ‘publishers at the forefront of innovation in their activity for the creative nature of the editorial choices they have made during the previous year’. Aotearoa New Zealand publisher Oratia Media was the 2021 winner in the Oceania category.


Category: Awards Junior Local news