Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA 2022 Book of the Year shortlists announced

The Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has announced its 2022 Book of the Year shortlists.

The shortlisted books in each category are:

Older readers

Younger readers

Early childhood

  • Amira’s Suitcase (Vikki Conley, illus by Nicky Johnston, New Frontier)
  • Jetty Jumping (Andrea Rowe, illus by Hannah Sommerville, HGCP)
  • Walk of the Whales (Nick Bland, HGCP)
  • What Do You Call Your Grandma? (Ashleigh Barton, illus by Martina Heiduczek, ABC Books)
  • When the Waterhole Dries Up (Kaye Baillie, illus by Max Hamilton, Windy Hollow)
  • Winston and the Indoor Cat (Leila Rudge, Walker)

Picture book of the year

  • Blue Flower (Sonya Hartnett, illus by Gabriel Evans, Puffin)
  • The Boy and the Elephant (Freya Blackwood, HarperCollins)
  • Iceberg (Claire Saxby, illus by Jess Racklyeft, A&U)
  • The Inheritance (Armin Greder, A&U)
  • Just One Bee (Margrete Lamond & Anthony Bertini, illus by Christopher Nielsen, Dirt Lane Press)
  • Stellarphant (James Foley, Fremantle Press)

Eve Pownall Award

CBCA Award for New Illustrator

  • Freda Chiu for A Trip to the Hospital (A&U)
  • Natala Graetz for Everyday Wonders (Everyday Wonders)
  • Cindy Lane for Great White Shark (Claire Saxby, Walker)
  • Emma Long for Walking in Gagudju Country: Exploring the Monsoon Forest (Diane Lucas & Ben Tyler, A&U)
  • Cristina Neri for For Love (Lake Press)
  • Michelle Pereira for The Boy Who Tried to Shrink His Name (Sandhya Parappukkaran, HGCP).

The shortlisted books were chosen from the CBCA 2022 Notable Books list, which was announced in February.

The CBCA also announced that this year’s prize pool will exceed $100,000 for the first time. CBCA chair Wendy Rapee said 2022 is ‘turning out to be a year of firsts’.

‘We saw a record number of award entries, a record prize pool, and right now young readers around Australia are being invited to choose their own CBCA Book of the Year from the shortlist for the first time. That’s for our new Sun Project: Shadow Judging, made possible by funding from the Australian Government RISE Fund.’

The Book of the Year winners will be announced at noon AEST on Friday, 19 August. For more information about the CBCA Awards, see the CBCA website.


Category: Awards Junior Local news