Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stella Prize 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2022 Stella Prize, worth $50,000, has been announced.

The six shortlisted books are:

  • TAKE CARE (Eunice Andrada, Giramondo)
  • Dropbear (Evelyn Araluen, UQP)
  • No Document (Anwen Crawford, Giramondo)
  • Bodies of Light (Jennifer Down, Text)
  • Stone Fruit (Lee Lai, Fantagraphics)
  • Homecoming (Elfie Shiosaki, Magabala).

Each shortlisted author receives $4000, an increase from the previous amount of $2000.

Chair of judges Melissa Lucashenko said: ‘The 2022 Stella Prize shortlist is big on emerging voices writing in unconventional ways—from regions, positions, and literary forms that transcend the mainstream. These authors are writing back, insisting that “other” lives—First Nations lives, poor women’s lives, queer lives, and Filipina lives—matter on the page just as they do in everyday affairs.

‘Although the shortlisted authors vary widely in location, gender, and culture, they all share two things. First, all six shortlistees undertake the essential work of any artist: paying attention to what is happening around them, and interrogating that experience. Second, the authors have produced powerfully beautiful literature, sacrificing no art in their unflinching focus on justice, inclusion, and truth-telling. It has been a great pleasure as well as an honour, to shine a light on these six brilliant talents.’

The shortlist, which was announced live on ABC Radio National’s Breakfast program on 31 March, includes three works of poetry, eligible for the first time this year, as well as one work of nonfiction, one novel and a graphic novel. Half of the shortlisted books are by debut authors. Judges Lucashenko, Declan Fry, Cate Kennedy, Sisonke Msimang and Oliver Reeson selected the six titles from a longlist announced earlier this month.

In its 10th year, the Stella Prize aims to celebrate and elevate the work of Australian women and non-binary writers. The winner of last year’s prize was Evie Wyld for her novel The Bass Rock (Vintage).

The winner of the 2022 Stella Prize will be announced on Thursday, 28 April. For more information on the prize and this year’s shortlist, see the Stella website.


Category: Awards Local news