Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Awards 2021 finalists announced

The finalists for the 2021 Aurealis Awards, presented for science fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia, have been announced.

Among the finalists are:

Best horror novel

  • The Bridge (J S Breukelaar, Meerkat Press)
  • Midnight in the Chapel of Love (Matthew R Davis, JournalStone Publishing)
  • Papa Lucy & The Boneman (Jason Fischer, Outland Entertainment)
  • The Airways (Jennifer Mills, Picador)
  • Holly and the Nobodies (Ben Pienaar, Hellbound Books)

Best fantasy novel

  • Supermums – And So It Begins (Meg Grace, self-published)
  • The Rose Daughter (Maria Lewis, Piatkus)
  • A Marvellous Light (Freya Marske, Tor)
  • Dark Rise (C S Pacat, A&U)
  • She Who Became the Sun (Shelley Parker-Chan, Mantle)
  • All the Murmuring Bones (Angela Slatter, Titan Books)

Best science fiction novel 

  • Waking Romeo (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • The 22 Murders of Madison May (Max Barry, Hachette)
  • Stealing Time (Rebecca Bowyer, Story Addict)
  • Papa Lucy & The Boneman (Jason Fischer, Outland Entertainment)
  • Aurora’s End (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • Deepwater King (Claire McKenna, HarperCollins)

Best anthology

  • Who Sleuthed It? (ed by Lindy Cameron, Clan Destine Press)
  • Relics, Wrecks & Ruins (ed by Aiki Flinthart et al, CAT Press)
  • Hometown Haunts: #LoveOzYA Horror Tales (ed by Poppy Nwosu, Wakefield)
  • Spawn: Weird Horror Tales About Pregnancy, Birth and Babies (ed by Deborah Sheldon, IFWG Publishing Australia) 

Best young adult novel 

  • Waking Romeo (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • Aurora’s End (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • Terciel and Elinor (Garth Nix, A&U)
  • Echo in the Memory (Cameron Nunn, Walker)
  • Dirt Circus League (Maree Kimberley, Text)
  • It’s Not You, It’s Me (Gabrielle Williams, A&U) 

Best children’s fiction 

  • The Boy Who Stepped Through Time (Anna Ciddor, A&U)
  • Stellarphant (James Foley, Fremantle Press)
  • Dragon Skin (Karen Foxlee, A&U)
  • The Curiosities (Zana Fraillon, illus by Phil Lesnie, Hachette)
  • Elsewhere Girls (Emily Gale & Nova Weetman, Text)
  • Barebum Billy (Nicholas Snelling, Bad Dad Publishing) 

Best graphic novel/illustrated work  

  • The Curiosities (Zana Fraillon, illus by Phil Lesnie, Lothian)
  • Treasure in the Lake (Jason Pamment, A&U)
  • Mechanix (Ben Slabak & Edoardo Natalini, Cloud 9 Comix)
  • Killeroo: Semper Fidelis (Matthew Soall, illus by Ignacio Di Meglio, OzComics) 

Best collection 

  • The Gulp (Alan Baxter, self-published)
  • Danged Black Thing (Eugen Bacon, Transit Lounge)
  • The Terralight Collection (Pamela Jeffs, Four Ink Press)
  • The Tallow-Wife & Other Tales (Angela Slatter, Tartarus Press)
  • Little Labyrinths: Collected Microfictions (Sean Williams, Brain Jar Press)

Book series award

  • ‘Lifespan of Starlight’ (Thalia Kalkipsakis, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • ‘Elementals’ (Amie Kaufman, HarperCollins)
  • ‘Unearthed’ (Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner, A&U)
  • ‘Lifelike’ (Jay Kristoff, A&U)
  • ‘Winter’ (Mark Smith, Text)
  • ‘Blood and Gold’ (Kim Wilkins, HarperCollins).

Shortlists were also announced for other categories including best YA, horror, fantasy and science fiction short stories and novellas. To see the full shortlists, click here.

The date of the winners announcement is yet to be confirmed.


Category: Awards Local news