Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Overland announces 2021 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize shortlist

Overland has announced the shortlist for the 2021 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize.

The shortlisted stories, chosen from over 400 entries, are:

  • ‘The Quake’ by Germain Canon
  • ‘Trucked’ by Harmony DenRonden
  • ‘Leaving for America’ by Dan Dixon
  • ‘The Crane Fly’ by Michelle Hamadache
  • ‘Fairy Lights’ by Michelle Prak
  • ‘Bite the Hand’ by Mikee Donato Sto Domingo
  • ‘the labeller’ by Saraid Taylor
  • ‘New Directions in Anthropomorphism’ by Miriam Webster.

Named for the late Neilma Gantner and supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, the prize awards short fiction of up to 3000 words ‘themed loosely around the notion of travel’ and is open to writers at any stage of their career.

The winner receives $5000 and publication in the autumn 2022 issue of Overland’s print magazine. Two runners-up will each receive $750 and publication online.

This year’s prize is judged by Julie Koh, Alice Robinson and Mykaela Saunders.

For more information about the award and the shortlisted entries, see the Overland website.


Category: Local news