Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ondaatje Prize 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s £10,000 (A$17,500) Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize has been announced.

The annual award recognises the book ‘of highest literary merit—fiction, nonfiction or poetry—which best evokes the spirit of a place’.

The six shortlisted titles are:

  • The Manningtree Witches (A K Blakemore, Granta)
  • Islands of Abandonment: Life in the post-human landscape (Cal Flyn,William Collins)
  • Writing the Camp (Yousif M Qasmiyeh, Broken Sleep Books)
  • Empireland: How imperialism has shaped modern Britain (Sathnam Sanghera, Viking)
  • The Island of Missing Trees (Elif Shafak, Penguin)
  • Free (Lea Ypi, Allen Lane).

The winner will be announced on 4 May. Last year’s Ondaatje Prize winner was Ruth Gilligan for her literary thriller The Butchers (Atlantic).


Category: International news