Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Dorothy Hewett Award 2022 shortlist announced

UWA Publishing (UWAP) has announced the shortlist for the 2022 Dorothy Hewett Award for an unpublished manuscript. The winner receives $10,000 prize money, as well as manuscript development and a publishing contract with UWAP.

The shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • ‘The Sleeping’ by Melissa Jones Murphy, ‘an intriguing young adult mystery-come-adventure story with strong plotting and much promise’
  • ‘Eta Draconis’ by Brendan Ritchie, ‘a road narrative set in Western Australia’s southwest that follows two sisters … A poetic and compelling novel for the Covid moment’
  • ‘How to Order Eggs Sunny Side Up’ by Lisa Collyer, ‘searing poetry of feminine experience … poems which bristle with edges and glint like cut gems’
  • ‘Like a Small City’ by Carla de Goede, a collection that ‘explores the mechanics of writing, of poetry … that intertwines the complexities of life with the often-shaky ground that is being a poet’
  • ‘Nameless’ by Amanda Jane Creely, a ‘hard-hitting allegory that is both timely and timeless in its exploration of the effects of war’
  • ‘Greater City Shadows’ by Laurie Steed, ‘a beautiful collection of stories showcasing the small but magnificent ways people can find connections, set amongst one of the most isolated cities in the world’.

The 2022 shortlist was chosen by judges Tony Hughes-d’Aeth, Leni Shilton, Astrid Edwards and Eleanor Hurt.

Previous recipients of the Dorothy Hewett Award include 2021 joint winners Joshua Kemp and Kgshak Akec, whose respective books Banjawarn (submitted as ‘Strangest Places’) and Hopeless Kingdom are both publishing this year, 2020 winner Karen Wyld, whose novel Where the Fruit Falls was published last year, and the inaugural winner, Extinctions by Josephine Wilson, which went on to win the 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

For more information about this year’s Dorothy Hewett Award shortlist, see the UWAP website.


Category: Awards Local news