Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Centre for Stories Writing Fellowships 2022 winners announced

The Centre for Stories has announced the winners of the 2022 Centre for Stories Writing Fellowships.

The six winning writers are:

  • Ana Brawls, for a manuscript of literary fiction
  • Melanie Hobbs, for a manuscript of short stories
  • Casey Mulder, for a manuscript of memoir
  • Kaya Ortiz, for a manuscript of poetry
  • Taya Reid, for a manuscript of literary fiction
  • Alexander Te Pohe, for a manuscript of adult fantasy.

Part of the centre’s Writing Change, Writing Inclusion program, the fellowship offers professional support to emerging writers, who will work on their manuscript over a 12-month period. Each winning writer receives a $10,000 stipend, desk space at the Centre for Stories, editorial and mentoring support, as well as profiling and professional networking opportunities.

‘We are always humbled by the quality of applicants we receive, and this is a tremendous milestone for emerging writers,’ said Centre for Stories creative director Robert Wood. ‘In expanding access to literature in the form of income and professional support, I know we will improve the lives of readers and writers in years to come.’

Open to emerging Western Australian writers who identify as First Nations and/or a person of colour, the writing fellowships are supported by the Ian Potter Foundation, the Centre for Stories Founders’ Circle and the Australia Council for the Arts.

For more information about the fellowship program, see the Centre for Stories website.


Category: Awards Local news