Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

WA Premier’s Book Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2021 Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted books in each category are:

Premier’s Prize for an Emerging Writer ($15,000)

  • Debesa (Cindy Solonec, Magabala)
  • Eye of a Rook (Josephine Taylor, Fremantle Press)
  • Homecoming (Elfie Shiosaki, Magabala)
  • Locust Summer (David Allan-Petale, Fremantle Press)
  • Vociferate (Emily Sun, Fremantle Press)

Premier’s Prize for Writing for Children ($15,000)

  • A Glasshouse of Stars (Shirley Marr, Puffin)
  • One Thousand Snapshots (Steve Heron, Shawline)
  • Stellarphant (James Foley, Fremantle Press)
  • Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows (Cristy Burne & Denis Knight, Lothian)
  • Where Do the Stars Go? (Katie Stewart, Fremantle Press)

Daisy Utemorrah Award for Unpublished Indigenous Junior and YA Fiction ($15,000 and a publishing contract with Magabala Books)

  • ‘Robert Runs’ by Mariah Sweetman
  • ‘Jack Trials: Whistling Spider’ by Sean Owen
  • ‘That one summer’ by Shirleyann Wilson

The Western Australian Writer’s Fellowship ($60,000)

  • Caitlin Maling
  • David Whish-Wilson
  • John Mateer
  • Julia Lawrinson
  • Nandi Chinna.

The WA Premier’s Literary Awards recognise excellence in WA writing, while the Daisy Utemorrah Award is open to Indigenous writers from all states and territories.

For more information on the shortlist, see the State Library of WA website.


Category: Awards Local news