Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2022 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $60,000, has been announced.

The 12 longlisted novels are:

‘This year’s longlist, drawn from a robust pool of entries, reflects the thematic richness and the formal adventurousness of the contemporary Australian novel, as our writers respond to our times. Diverse in every sense, it extends from works of realism to novels in a more experimental vein, proving that the nation’s storytellers are continuing to test the boundaries of what the novel can do,’ said State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian Richard Neville, who is judging the 2022 award alongside critics Bernadette Brennan and James Ley, scholar Mridula Nath Chakraborty, and writer and editor Elfie Shiosaki.

The shortlisted novels will be announced on 23 June, with the winner to be revealed on 20 July.

Amanda Lohrey was the winner of the 2021 Miles Franklin for her novel The Labyrinth (Text). For more information, see award sponsor Perpetual’s website.


Category: Awards Local news