Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Grant, Hathorn to be inducted into ABIA Hall of Fame; business, Rising Star shortlists announced

Hardie Grant CEO Sandy Grant and children’s author Libby Hathorn will be inducted into the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) Hall of Fame at the 2022 ABIA awards ceremony on Thursday, 9 June, the Australian Publishers Association (APA) has announced.

Grant will receive the Lloyd O’Neil Award for outstanding service to the Australian book industry. Grant has spent his working lifetime in books and publishing, launching Hardie Grant 24 years ago. ‘Wherever he has worked Sandy has fostered a creative haven for authors, publishers, illustrators, photographers, editors, designers, salespeople and marketers to thrive and make their own contribution to Australia’s cultural output,’ said the APA.

‘Lloyd O’Neil was supportive of my career and kind as he neared the end of his life,’ said Grant. ‘He launched Explore Australia in the 1980s, now a successful part of Hardie Grant. I am proud to be the recipient of an Award honouring someone whose legacy was successfully focusing on Australian books and authors.’

Hathorn will receive the Pixie O’Harris Award, which recognises excellence and dedicated service to Australian children’s literature. For more than 50 years Hathorn, a writer and former teacher librarian, has been ‘one of Australia’s most acclaimed authors of books for children and young people, as well as a tireless advocate for the importance of children’s literature’, according to the APA.

‘As someone devoted to the arts and Australian literature, I’m really delighted to be the recipient of the Pixie O’Harris Award, 2022,’ said Hathorn. ‘It’s true to say I’ve known Pixie—at least her illustrations—most of my life as they decorated walls of a hospital I was in as a child. Being part of this industry-wide publishing world with all its up and downs as a writer, is sometimes amazingly gratifying, sometimes quite heart-breaking and sometimes downright exciting—like right now being recognised with this award.’

Rising Star Award shortlist

The shortlist for this year’s Rising Star Award for an individual ‘whose record reflects ongoing excellence and growth in contribution to their profession’ has also been announced.

The 2022 shortlist is:

  • Kate Lloyd (Text Publishing)
  • Emily Cook (Ultimo Press)
  • Mika Tabata (Allen & Unwin)
  • Crystal Corocher (Larrikin House Publishing)
  • Sam van der Plank (Monash University Publishing)
  • Emily Hart (Hardie Grant Books).

ABIA 2022 Business Awards shortlist

The APA has also announced the shortlists for the ABIA business awards.

The shortlisted businesses are:

Book Retailer of the Year

  • Readings
  • Harry Hartog Bookseller
  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Big W

Bookshop of the Year

  • Open Book
  • Matilda Bookshop
  • Potts Point Bookshop
  • Avenue Bookstore Albert Park
  • Avid Reader Bookshop
  • Paper Bird Children’s Books & Arts

Publisher of the Year

  • Hachette Australia
  • Penguin Random House Australia
  • Pan Macmillan Australia
  • Hardie Grant Publishing
  • Allen & Unwin
  • Thames & Hudson Australia

Small Publisher of the Year

  • Pantera Press
  • Scribe Publications
  • Black Inc.
  • University of Queensland Press
  • Monash University Publishing
  • Melbourne University Publishing.

The winners of the ABIA awards, including the winners of the book awards, will be announced at an in-person event in Sydney on Thursday, 9 June. For more information or to buy tickets, see the ABIA website.


Category: Awards Local news