Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2022 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The shortlisted works of fiction and poetry are:

  • Wild Abandon (Emily Bitto, A&U)
  • Human Looking (Andy Jackson, Giramondo)
  • Pushing Back (John Kinsella, Transit Lounge)
  • Permafrost (S J Norman, UQP)
  • Homecoming (Elfie Shiosaki, Magabala)
  • Trigger Warning (Maria Takolander, UQP).

The shortlisted works were chosen from a longlist announced in May.

Awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year, the ALS Gold Medal is Australia’s longest running literary award. The winner, to be announced in July, receives a gold medal.

The winner of last year’s prize was Nardi Simpson for The Song of the Crocodile (Hachette). For more information, see the ASAL website.


Category: Awards Local news