Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards announced

The winners of the 2022 Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards have been announced.

The winners, who each receive $10,000, are:


  • Return to Dust (Dani Powell, UWAP)


  • Peace Crimes: Pine Gap, national security and dissent (Kieran Finnane, UQP)

Children’s and young adult

  • Tjanimaku Tjukurpa: How one young man came good (NPY Women’s Council Uti Kulintaku Watiku [Men’s] Group, illus by Jan Bauer, NPY Women’s Council).

Judges for the 2022 awards Marie Munkara, Leonie Norrington and Leni Shilton noted that the entries this year, in both English and First Nations languages,’tackled a number of substantial topics with great insight … including personal, cultural, environmental and family issues’. The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in May.

The Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards have been running for 10 years. Presented biennially, they ‘shine a light on the talent, originality, and flair’ of writers in the NT and share this with interstate readers.

This year’s winning books were announced at a special event on Wednesday, 22 June on the eve of the NT Writers Festival.


Category: Awards Local news