Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Miles Franklin 2022 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2022 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $60,000, has been announced.

The five shortlisted novels are:

This year’s shortlist includes Grimmish, self-published before being acquired by Puncher & Wattmann earlier this year, as well as the seventh novel by previous Miles Franklin winner Michelle de Kretser. Each shortlisted author receives $5000 courtesy of the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.

‘The outstanding feature of this year’s Miles Franklin shortlist is the range of dynamic and diverse voices that address the experience of pain, intergenerational trauma and intergenerational dialogue with compassion, exceptional craft and rigorous unsentimentality,’ said State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian Richard Neville, who is judging this year’s award alongside critics Bernadette Brennan and James Ley, scholar Mridula Nath Chakraborty, and writer and editor Elfie Shiosaki.

This year’s shortlist was chosen from a longlist of 12, which included John Hughes’s The Dogs, removed from contention for the award after the Guardian discovered instances of plagiarism in the novel.

The 2022 winner will be announced on 20 July. For more information about the shortlist, see Miles Franklin trustee Perpetual’s website.


Category: Awards Local news