Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Writers Vic announces 2022 Writeability fellows

Writers Victoria has announced the 2022 Writeability fellows.

The following five writers with disability were awarded Writeability fellowships:

  • Dorian Sutton for ‘The Passenger’, a young adult, queer coming-of-age story about a teen growing up in the suburban sprawl of Melbourne in the late 1990s
  • Emma Rennison for ‘No Guts, No Glory’, a dystopian fiction about a primetime TV game show that awards surgeries as prizes to winning contestants after the UK healthcare system collapses
  • Juliet Sironi for ‘&’, a non-linear memoir exploring depression and trauma after severe memory loss and amnesia
  • Maggie Scott for ‘The Bottle Factory’, a story where a woman, grieving the death of her grandmother, is drawn into the music world by her estranged father, a producer facing sex allegations
  • Sarah Stivens for ‘Therapeutic Discomfort’, a poetry collection that explores themes of identity, lived experience of disability and mental illness, grief and relationships.

Each fellow will receive tailored support for their writing project in the form of mentoring, manuscript assessment and/or attendance at Writers Victoria workshops.

In its 10th year the fellowship received 29 applications.

Judge Clem Bastow said, ‘It was such an honour to help judge the 2022 Writeability Fellowship entries, which showed such an exciting breadth of genres and forms. They are a testament to the diversity and importance of #OwnVoices when writing about disability but also, all the entries remind the reader that writers with disability bring such unique voices to Australian literature. That powerful positionality was clear in every piece, regardless of subject, and it was a real treat to read work that will no doubt be the first of many for this talented group of writers.’

The Writeability fellowships are supported by the Grace Marion Wilson Trust. For information, visit the Writers Victoria website.


Category: Awards Local news