Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Glass Bell Award 2022 shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for the £2000 (A$3500) Goldsboro Glass Bell Award has been announced.

The shortlisted novels are:

  • We Are All Birds of Uganda (Hafsa Zayyan, Merky Books)
  • Sistersong (Lucy Holland, Pan)
  • Ariadne (Jennifer Saint, Wildfire)
  • Mrs March (Virginia Feito, Fourth Estate)
  • The Wolf Den (Elodie Harper, Head of Zeus)
  • Daughters (Night Laura Shepherd-Robinson, Pan).

Administered by independent bookshop Goldsboro Books, the Glass Bell Award rewards storytelling in all genres, and is awarded annually to ‘a compelling novel with brilliant characterisation and a distinct voice that is confidently written and assuredly realised’.

Last year’s winner was Clare Whitfield for her historical thriller People of Abandoned Character (Head of Zeus), a take on the Jack the Ripper story.

The winner of the 2022 Glass Bell Award will be announced on 8 September.


Category: International news