Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Age Book of the Year 2022 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2022 Age Book of the Year Award, which this year includes a prize for nonfiction, have been announced.

The shortlisted works in each category are:



  • Whole Notes: Life lessons through music (Ed Ayres, ABC Books)
  • Leaping Into Waterfalls: The enigmatic Gillian Mears (Bernadette Brennan, A&U)
  • The Boy in the Dress (Jonathan Butler, Affirm)
  • The Uncaged Sky: My 804 days in an Iranian prison (Kylie Moore-Gilbert, Ultimo)
  • Astronomy: Sky Country (Karlie Noon and Krystal De Napoli, Thames & Hudson)
  • Childless: A story of freedom and longing (Sian Prior, Text).

Each of the award winners, to be announced on 8 September as part of the Melbourne Writers Festival opening gala, will receive $10,000.

First presented in 1974, the Age Book of the Year was presented in 2021 following a nine-year hiatus, going to Robbie Arnott for The Rain Heron (Text).


Category: Awards Local news