Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nib Literary Award 2022 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2022 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, worth $20,000, has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Currowan (Bronwyn Adcock, Black Inc.)
  • Telling Tennant’s Story (Dean Ashenden, Black Inc.)
  • Q Anon & On: A short and shocking history of internet conspiracy cults (Van Badham, Hardie Grant Books)
  • Leaping into Waterfalls (Bernadette Brennan, A&U)
  • Two Afternoons In The Kabul Stadium (Tim Bonyhady, Text)
  • Making Australian History (Anna Clark, Vintage)
  • Signs and Wonders (Delia Falconer, Scribner)
  • The Asparagus Wars (Carol Major, ES Press)
  • Delia Akeley and the Monkey (Ian McCalman, Upswell)
  • Mafioso (Colin McLaren, Hachette)
  • Mortals (Rachel Menzies & Ross Menzies, A&U)
  • Inseparable Elements (Patsy Millet, Fremantle Press)
  • My Tongue Is My Own (Anne-Marie Priest, La Trobe University Press)
  • Red Heaven (Nicolas Rothwell, Text)
  • A Great Hope (Jessica Stanley, Picador)
  • Here Goes Nothing (Steve Toltz, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Jane Austen Remedy (Ruth Wilson, A&U).

The Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Award, known as ‘the Nib’, is presented by Sydney’s Waverley Council. It celebrates ‘the most compelling research-based Australian literature and is awarded to nominated published works of any genre that best fulfill the criteria of quality of research, readability and value to the community’. Of the 18 books longlisted, only three are works of fiction.

The shortlist will be announced on 27 September, with the winners announced in November.

Luke Stegemann was the winner of the 2021 award for his book Amnesia Road: landscape, violence and memory (NewSouth).

For more information, see the Waverley Council website.


Category: Awards Local news