Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Davitt Awards 2022 winners announced

Sisters in Crime Australia has announced the winners of the 2022 Davitt Awards for best crime books by Australian women.

The winning titles in each category are:

Adult crime novel                

  • Once There Were Wolves (Charlotte McConaghy, Hamish Hamilton)

Highly commended

  • Unforgiven (Sarah Barrie, HQ Fiction)

Young adult crime novel

Children’s crime novel

  • The Detective’s Guide to Ocean Travel (Nicki Greenberg, Affirm)

Nonfiction crime book

  • The Winter Road: A story of legacy, land and a killing at Croppa Creek (Kate Holden, Black Inc.)

Debut crime books

Readers’ choice

This year’s judging panel was made up of medical autopsy expert Philomena Horsley; YA expert and reviewer Joy Lawn; Sisters in Crime’s president Moraig Kisler; and authors Janice Simpson, Emily Webb and Jacquie Byron. The judges selected the winners from 33 shortlisted titles.

The winners were announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne on Saturday, 27 August. No prize money is attached to the Davitts; the winner of each category receives a trophy.

Last year’s winners included Sally Hepworth for The Good Sister (Macmillan) and Leah Swann’s Sheerwater (Fourth Estate).


Category: Awards Local news