Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Writing NSW diverse mentorship program winners announced

Writing NSW has announced the recipients of the 2022 diverse writers mentorship program for emerging writers from Indigenous or culturally diverse backgrounds.

The winners are:

  • Azka Hameed
  • Mayu Kanamori
  • Harold Legaspi
  • Jacqueline Mohr
  • Audrey Newton
  • Layla Tan.

Each writer receives $1000, a Writing NSW membership, and the opportunity to develop a short piece of fiction or nonfiction under the guidance of writer Roanna Gonsalves.

‘From historical fiction and speculative storytelling to contemporary political satire, the six winners move beyond clichés of immigrant stories towards an articulation of complex and fresh insights on cultural multiplicity,’ said the judges. ‘The incredible range of genres and styles of writing submitted for this program suggests that the future of Australian storytelling is in good hands.’

Announced last year, the diverse writers mentorship program is part of a series of Writing NSW diversity initiatives supported by funding from Create NSW.

For more information about the mentorship program, see the Writing NSW website.


Category: Awards Local news