Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize shortlist announced

Overland has announced the shortlist for the 2023 Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize.

Shortlisted stories are:

  • ‘Ad Nauseam’ by Gillian Hagenus
  • ‘Committal’ by Bridget Webster
  • ‘Fledgling’ by Madison Godfrey
  • ‘Mandarin Skins’ by Grace Fatchen
  • ‘A Map of Underneath’ by Madeleine Rebbechi
  • ‘Unsettle’ by Huette Hamersley
  • ‘Whack-a-Mole’ by Sheila Ngọc Phạm
  • ‘Who Rattles the Night?’ by Annie Zhang.

The prize, which ‘seeks moving, powerful and original short fiction of up to 3000 words themed loosely around the notion of “travel”’, has a first prize of $5000, with two runners-up receiving $750 each. The 2023 judging panel includes Patrick Lenton, Alice Bishop and Sara Saleh, who shortlisted the eight works from over 500 entries.

Overland will publish the winning story in its print publication, while the two runners-up will have their stories published online.


Category: Awards