Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Dick and Joan Green Family Award for Tasmanian History 2024 shortlist

The shortlist has been announced for the 2024 Dick and Joan Green Family Award for Tasmanian History, worth $25,000.

The shortlisted works, chosen from a longlist of seven announced in March, are:

  • Limberlost (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Gardeners, Plant Collectors, Friends: Hobart Town and beyond (Ann Cripps, Fullers)
  • John Glover: Patterdale Farm and the revelation of the Australian landscape (Ron Radford, Ovata Press)
  • Tongerlongeter: First Nations leader and Tasmanian war hero (Henry Reynolds & Nicholas Clements, NewSouth).

The biennial award, established in 2016, promotes books on Tasmanian history and cultural heritage. Established to commemorate the contributions of Dick and Joan Green (who were instrumental in the establishment of the National Trust in the 1960s), the award is a joint initiative of the Green family and the University of Tasmania. More information is on the award website.

The winner will be announced in August.


Category: Awards Local news