Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Kibble, Dobbie 2012 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards for women writers have been announced.

The shortlisted titles for the $30,000 Nita B Kibble Literary Award for Women Writers, which recognises the work of an established Australian female writer, are:

  • Five Bells (Gail Jones, Vintage)
  • Foal’s Bread (Gillian Mears, A&U)
  • Animal People (Charlotte Wood, A&U).


The shortlisted titles for the $5000 Dobbie Encouragement Award, which recognises ‘the accomplished work of a first published Australian female writer’, are:

  • End of the Night Girl (Amy T Matthews, Wakefield Press)
  • Past the Shallows (Favel Parrett, Hachette)
  • Bearings (Leah Swann, Affirm Press).


The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 25 July.

The Kibble and Dobbie Literary Awards, which are open to works written and published in the past 12 months, focus on women writers of published fiction or nonfiction classified as ‘life writing’ and must be about or connected to life in Australia. Last year, the Nita B Kibble Literary Award was presented to Reading by Moonlight: How Books Saved a Life by Brenda Walker (Penguin), and the Dobbie Encouragement Award was presented to Night Street by Kristel Tornell (A&U).

For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news