Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 NZ Post Book Awards shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s New Zealand Post Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:


  • From under the Overcoat (Sue Orr, Vintage)
  • Rangatira (Paula Morris, Penguin)
  • The Trouble with Fire (Fiona Kidman, Vintage)



  • The Leaf-Ride (Dinah Hawken, Victoria University Press)
  • Shift (Rhian Gallagher, Auckland University Press)
  • Thicket (Anna Jackson, Auckland University Press)


General nonfiction

  • Bligh: William Bligh in the South Seas (Anne Salmond, Viking)
  • The Broken Book (Fiona Farrell, Auckland University Press)
  • The Hungry Heart: Journeys with William Colenso (Peter Wells, Vintage)
  • So Brilliantly Clever: Parker, Hulme and the Murder that Shocked the World (Peter Graham, Awa Press)
  • Tupaia: The Remarkable Story of Captain Cook’s Polynesian Navigator (Joan Druett, Random House)


Illustrated nonfiction

  • A Micronaut in the Wide World: The Imaginative Life and Time of Graham Percy (Gregory O’Brien, Auckland University Press)
  • New Zealand Film – An Illustrated History (Diane Pivac, Frank Stark & Lawrence McDonald, Te Papa Press)
  • New Zealand’s Native Trees (John Dawson & Rob Lucas, Craig Potton Publishing)
  • Playing with Fire: Auckland Studio Potters Society Turns 50 (Peter Lange & Stuart Newby, Auckland Studio Potters Society and National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries Centre for New Zealand Art Research and Discovery)
  • Whatu KāKahu / Māori Cloaks (Awhina Tamarapa, Te Papa Press).


The winning books in each category will receive NZ$10,000 (A$7767) and will also be considered for the New Zealand Post Book of the Year Award, worth NZ$15,000 (A$11,650). The judges will also present a Māori Language Award, worth NZ$10,000 (A$7767). The shortlisted books will also be voted on by New Zealanders in the People’s Choice Award, worth NZ$5000 (A$3883).

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at an awards ceremony in Auckland on 1 August.

As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, the winners of this year’s New Zealand Society of Authors Best First Book Awards, also part of the NZ Post Book Awards, have already been announced. The winners in each of the categories can be seen here.

For more information about the NZ Post Book Awards, visit the Booksellers New Zealand website here.



Category: Local news