Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘New Zealand’s Native Trees’ wins 2012 Book of the Year at NZ Post Book Awards

The winners of this year’s New Zealand Post Book Awards have been announced.

New Zealand’s Native Trees by John Dawson and Rob Lucas (Craig Potton Publishing) has been named this year’s New Zealand Post Book of the Year, winning NZ$15,000 (A$11,600). The book also won the illustrated nonfiction category, worth NZ$10,000 (A$7730)

New Zealand Post Book Awards convenor of judges Chris Bourke described the winning work as a once-in-a-generation example of excellence in publishing. ‘From the detailed and authoritative research, accessible and comprehensive writing, detailed yet expansive photography, near flawless editing, design and layout, this is a quality book from start to finish,’ said Bourke. ‘Its impact on the community and on generations to come is self-evident.’

The other winning titles in each category are:


  • Rangatira (Paula Morris, Penguin Group NZ)



  • Shift (Rhian Gallagher, Auckland University Press)


General nonfiction

  • Tupaia: The Remarkable Story of Captain Cook’s Polynesian Navigator (Joan Druett, Random House NZ)


Māori Language Award

  • Tōku Reo, Tōku Ohooho : My Language, My Inspiration (Chris  Winitana, Huia Publishers)


People’s Choice Award

  • From Under the Overcoat (Sue Orr, Vintage).


To see the titles shortlisted in each of the categories, click here.

The winners in the fiction, poetry, general nonfiction and Māori Language categories receive NZ$10,000 (A$7730). The People’s Choice Award is worth NZ$5000 (A$3860).

As previously reported by Bookseller+Publisher, the winners of the 2012 New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) Best First Book Awards have already been announced. A full list of winners is available here.

More information about the NZ Post Book Awards and the NZSA Best First Book Awards can be found on the Booksellers New Zealand website.



Category: Local news