Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

2012 Costa Book Awards category winners announced

The category winners for the 2012 Costa Book Awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:


  • Bring Up the Bodies (Hilary Mantel, Fourth Estate)


First novel

  • The Innocents (Francesca Segal, Vintage)



  • Dotter of her Father’s Eyes (Mary & Bryan Talbot, Jonathan Cape)



  • The Overhaul (Kathleen Jamie, Picador)


Children’s book

  • Maggot Moon (Sally Gardner, Hot Key Books).


Each of the category winners receives a cash prize of £5000 (A$7737) and is now in the running for the overall £30,000 (A$46,423) Costa Book of the Year Award, which will be announced on 29 January along with the winner of the Costa Short Story Award.

The Costa Book Awards are presented annually for titles published in the previous year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. The 2011 Costa Book of the Year Award was presented to novelist Andrew Miller for Pure (Hachette).



Category: Local news