Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ABIA Book of the Year shortlist announced

The Australian Publishers Association (APA) has announced the shortlist for this year’s Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) Book of the Year Award, which is sponsored by Booktopia.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The 26-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)
  • The Lost Diggers (Ross Coulthart, HarperCollins)
  • Speechless: A Year in My Father’s Business (James Button, MUP)
  • The Light between Oceans (M L Stedman, Vintage)
  • My Journey (Jim Stynes & Warwick Green, Michael Joseph)
  • QF32 (Richard de Crespigny, Pan Macmillan).


The winner of this year’s award will be announced at the ABIAs presentation dinner in Sydney on 24 May as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival. Each of the shortlisted books has also been shortlisted in one of the other ABIA categories. The full list of ABIAs finalists is available here.

The winners of the Nielsen BookData International Book of the Year Award, Lloyd O’Neil Award and the Pixie O’Harris Award will also be announced at the dinner. For more information, visit the APA website here.



Category: Local news