Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PM’s Literary Awards to be announced tonight

The winners of the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards will be announced tonight at a ceremony at the State Library of Queensland.

This is the first time the PM’s Literary Awards have been announced during a federal election campaign since the awards were established in 2008 by current Prime Minister Kevin Rudd. The presentation ceremony will begin at 5pm AEST.

In this year’s fiction category, Miles Franklin Literary Award winner Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser (A&U) is up against fellow Miles Franklin finalists Floundering by Romy Ash (Text) and Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany (Picador). Also in the running for the fiction prize is Peter Carey’s The Chemistry of Tears (Hamish Hamilton) and Christopher Koch’s Lost Voices (Fourth Estate).

Awards will also be presented for nonfiction, poetry, Australian history, young adult fiction and children’s fiction. To view the shortlisted titles in all the categories, click here.

The winners will each receive a tax-free cash prize of $80,000, with the shortlisted authors receiving $5000 tax-free.

For more information about the awards, visit the Office of the Arts website here.