Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hazel Rowley Fellowship 2014 finalists announced

Writers Victoria has announced the finalists for the 2014 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, which is presented each year to an Australian writer for a proposed biography.

The shortlisted writers and their projects are:

  • Maxine Beneba Clarke for her autobiography called The Hate Race
  • Co-authors Lesley Harding and Kendrah Morgan for a biography of John and Sunday Reed called Rebels with a Cause
  • Rodney James for a biography about art critic Alan McCulloch called Letters to a Critic
  • Ruth Starke for a biography of politician Don Dunstan called Between the Lines
  • Warren Ward for a biography about the love lives of seven philosophers called Lovers of Philosophy
  • Michelle Potter for an authorised biography of Dame Margaret Scott
  • Nadia Wheatley for research into her manuscript, A Memoir of Memory
  • Sylvia Martin for a biography of Amy Witting called The Survivor.


This year’s fellowship, worth $10,000, is judged by Janine Burke, Jim Davidson, Lynn Buchanan and Rowley’s sister Della Rowley. The winner will be announced in Melbourne on 11 March.

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was established in 2011 by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund with the support of Writers Victoria to encourage Australian authors to attain a high standard of biography writing and to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Hazel Rowley, who died in 2011. Previous recipients of the fellowship include Mary Hoban for a biography of Julia Arnold and Stephany Steggall for a biography of Thomas Keneally.

For more information about the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, visit the Writers Victoria website here.



Category: Local news