Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Craigieburn Library wins international library award

Craigieburn Library in Melbourne has won the inaugural International Public Library of the Year.

The library was shortlisted for the award along with the Library of Birmingham in England, the Bookmountain Library Spijkenisse in the Netherlands and Ørestad Library in Denmark.

The new prize, which is presented by the Danish Agency for Culture and sponsored by Danish firm Schmidt Hummer Lassen Architects, aims to reward and recognise ‘functional architectural expression in balance with its surroundings’.

The library was presented with the award at the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions congress in Lyon, France. Judges described the library, which was designed by architect Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp, as ‘a significant modern construction’ with ‘open and flexible space’.

For more information about the Craigieburn Library, click here.


Category: Library news