Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Man Booker Prize winner announced tonight

The winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize will be announced in the UK overnight.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Australian author Richard Flanagan has been shortlisted for the prize for his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North (Vintage).

Also on the shortlist are:

  • To Rise Again at a Decent Hour (Joshua Ferris, Viking)
  • We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves (Karen Joy Fowler, Serpent’s Tail)
  • J (Howard Jacobson, Jonathan Cape)
  • The Lives of Others (Neel Mukherjee, Chatto & Windus)
  • How to Be Both (Ali Smith, Hamish Hamilton).

The BBC has set up a countdown to the announcement on its website. For more information on the Man Booker Prize, visit the website here.