Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW State Library awards announced

The recipients of the Honours of the Library Council of NSW have been announced at an awards ceremony at the State Library of NSW.

Established in 2014, the honours are awarded to individuals ‘in recognition of their contribution to the cultural enrichment of Australia through library and information excellence’.

Michael Crouch and Kerry Stokes were both awarded the Dixson Medal for ‘distinguished contributions to business, innovation, philanthropy and the cultural sector, including the State Library of NSW’ and ‘the understanding of Australia and support for libraries and other cultural institutions’.

Anne-Marie Schwirtlich, director-general of the National Library of Australia, was awarded the Ifould Medal for ‘her distinguished service to Australian libraries and archives and leadership within the cultural sector’.

Alan Frost and Mark Hildebrand were both named Emeritus Curator for their ‘major contributions to history, research, the State Library of NSW and the NSW Parliamentary Library’.

Richard Fisher, Megan Martin and Samantha Meers were named Honorary Fellows for their respective contributions to the law, history and philanthropy.

President of the Library Council Andrew Tink said of the winners: ‘These individuals are tremendous champions for libraries and through their work give prominence to the vital role libraries play in the cultural life of our State and nation.’

For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Library news