Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2016 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:


  • The Anchoress (Robyn Cadwallader, Fourth Estate)
  • A Million Windows (Gerald Murnane, Giramondo)
  • Here Come the Dogs (Omar Musa, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Hot Little Hands (Abigail Ulman, Hamish Hamilton)
  • To Name Those Lost (Rohan Wilson, A&U)
  • The Swan Book (Alexis Wright, Giramondo)


  • A Country in Mind (Saskia Beudel, UWA Publishing)
  • The Director is the Commander (Anna Broinowski, Viking)
  • What Days are For (Robert Dessaix, Vintage)
  • Gardens of Fire (Robert Kenny, UWA Publishing)
  • Darwin (Tess Lea, NewSouth)
  • The Bush (Don Watson, Hamish Hamilton)

Young adult fiction

  • The Incredible Here and Now (Felicity Castagna, Giramondo)
  • Are You Seeing Me? (Darren Groth, Woolshed Press)
  • Head of the River (Pip Harry, UQP)
  • The First Third (Will Kostakis, Penguin)
  • Razorhurst (Justine Larbalestier, A&U)
  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)

Children’s literature

  • Hello from Nowhere (Raewyn, Caisley, Viking)
  • Crossing (Catherine Norton, Omnibus)
  • Figgy in the World (Tamsin Janu, Omnibus)
  • One Minute’s Silence (David Metzenthen & Michael Camilleri, A&U)
  • Paper Planes (Allayne L Webster, Omnibus)
  • Thirst (Lizzie Wilcock, Scholastic)

John Bray Poetry Award

  • The Hazards (Sarah Holland-Blatt, UQP)
  • Radiance (Andy Kissane, Puncher & Wattman)
  • Standard Variation (Paul Mitchell, Walleah Press)
  • Waiting for the Past (Les Murray, Black Inc.)
  • Love Poems and Death Threats (Samuel Wagan Watson, UQP)

Wakefield Press Unpublished Manuscript Award

  • ‘Mallee Boys’ (Charlie Archbold)
  • ‘Vintage Rain’ (Rachael Mead)
  • ‘Infringement’ (Andrew Roff)

Jill Blewett Playwright’s Award

  • Cut (Duncan Graham)
  • Blessed (Fleur Kilpatrick).

The winners of this year’s awards, as well as three fellowships for South Australian writers, will be announced on 27 February during the 2016 Adelaide Writers’ Week. One of the category winners will also receive the overall Premier’s Award.

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented biennially by the South Australian Government. Books by Australian authors that were published between 29 June 2013 and 26 June 2015 were eligible for the 2016 awards. For more information, visit the awards website here.



Category: Festivals Local news