Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hazel Rowley Fellowship 2017 finalists announced

Writers Victoria has announced the seven finalists for the 2017 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, awarded annually to an Australian writer for a proposed biographical work.

The shortlisted writers and their projects are:

  • Peter Edwards for a biography of Robert Marsden Hope
  • Thornton McCamish for a work exploring the life of actor Robert Hughes
  • Craig Munro for Literary Lions, a ‘group portrait’ of A G Stephens, P R ‘Inky’ Stephensen, Beatrice Davis and Kenneth Slessor
  • Anne Maree Priest for a biography of poet Gwen Harwood
  • Judith Pugh for a biography of William Dargie titled Artist in a Suit
  • Suzanne Spunner for a work on the life of Indigenous artist Rover Thomas
  • Terri-ann White for a biography of epidemiologist Fiona Stanley, as told through key objects.

The fellowship, which increases its cash prize to $15,000 this year, will be judged by biographers Jenny Hocking and Arnold Zable, Rowley’s friend and co-initiator of the fellowship Lynn Buchanan, and Rowley’s sister Della. The winner will be announced at an event at Adelaide Writers’ Week on 4 March.

The Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was established in 2011 by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund with the support of Writers Victoria to encourage Australian authors to attain a high standard of biography writing and to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Hazel Rowley, who died in 2011.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Matthew Lamb won the 2016 fellowship for his proposed cultural biography of Frank Moorhouse.

For more information about the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, visit the Writers Victoria website here.


Category: Local news