Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Kirkus Prize 2017 finalists announced

The finalists have been announced for the 2017 Kirkus Prize, sponsored by the US publication Kirkus Reviews.

The awards are presented in three categories—fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature—with each carrying a cash prize of US$50,000 (A$62,313).

The shortlisted titles are:


  • What it Means When a Man Falls from the Sky (Lesley Nneka Arimah, Tinder)
  • White Tears (Hari Kunzru, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Exit West (Mohsin Hamid, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Ninth Hour (Alice McDermott, Bloomsbury)
  • Her Body and Other Parties (Carmen Maria Machado, Graywolf US)
  • Sing, Unburied, Sing (Jesmyn Ward, Bloomsbury)


  • The Gulf (Jack E Davis, W W Norton)
  • The Seeds of Life (Edward Dolnick, Basic Books)
  • Priestdaddy: A Memoir (Patricia Lockwood, Penguin)
  • Tell Me How It Ends (Valeria Luiselli, trans Lizzie Davis, Coffee House Press)
  • The Cooking Gene (Michael W Twitty, HarperCollins US)
  • Henry David Thoreau: A Life (Laura Dassow Walls, University of Chicago Press)

Young readers

  • Walk with Me (Jairo Buitrago, trans by Elisa Arnado, illus by Rafael Yockteng, Groundwood Books)
  • Me Tall, You Small (Lilli L’Arronge, Owlkids Books)
  • Bronze and Sunflower (Cao Wenxuan, trans by Helen Wang, illus by Meilo So, Walker Books)
  • It All Comes Down to This (Karen English, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • The Marrow Thieves (Cherie Dimaline, Cormorant Books)
  • The Hate U Give (Angie Thomas, Walker Books)

Books that received a starred Kirkus review with publication dates between 1 September 2016 to 31 August 2017 were automatically nominated for the prize. The winners will be announced on 2 November.

For more information, visit the Kirkus Reviews website.


Category: Awards International news