Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Story Prize 2018 finalists announced

In the US, the three finalists for the 2018 Story Prize have been announced.

The finalists are:

  • The King is Always above the People (Daniel Alarcón, Riverhead Books)
  • Homesick for Another World (Ottessa Moshfegh, Vintage)
  • Anything is Possible (Elizabeth Strout, Viking)

The winner will be announced at a ceremony on 28 February and will receive US$20,000 (A$25,565) and an engraved silver bowl. The two runners-up will each receive US$5000 (A$6391).

Now in its 14th year, the Story Prize is awarded to the author of a collection of short stories judged by an independent jury to be the best of the year. Read more about the prize here.


Category: Awards International news