Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stella Prize 2018 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2018 Stella Prize has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

The six shortlisted titles were chosen from a longlist of 12 announced last month. The winner will be announced at a ceremony in Sydney on 12 April.

Each shortlisted author receives $3000 in prize money, as well as a three-week writing retreat on the Victorian coast, supported by the Trawalla Foundation.

Chair of judges Fiona Stager said the shortlisted titles ‘showcase the incredible breadth of talent in the writing by women in Australia today’. ‘The personal interweaves seamlessly with the political as these authors investigate the past, examine the present and re-imagine our future. Ideas about family, identity in all its forms, and politics at both its most profound and intimate levels are themes that connect these six diverse, engaging and original books.’

This year’s prize is judged by co-owner of Avid Reader Fiona Stager; author Julie Koh; editor, writer and poet Ellen van Neerven; writer and critic James Ley; and writer, editor and publisher Louise Swinn.

Worth $50,000, the Stella Prize is presented for the best work of fiction or nonfiction by an Australian woman published in the previous calendar year.

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, Heather Rose won the 2017 Stella Prize for her novel The Museum of Modern Love (A&U).


Category: Awards Local news