Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

HarperCollins and Thames & Hudson win at 2018 ABIAs, ‘Nevermoor’ named Book of the Year

The winners of the 2018 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) were announced in Sydney on 3 May.

HarperCollins won Publisher of the Year, while Thames & Hudson Australia won Small Publisher of the Year.

In retailing, Readings was named Best Independent Book Retailer of the Year (after tying with Potts Point Bookshop last year) and Dymocks was named Best National Book Retailer.

Jessica Townsend’s Nevermoor (Lothian) topped the winners list with three awards, including Book of the Year.

The full list of winners is:

Book of the Year

  • Nevermoor (Jessica Townsend, Lothian)

General fiction book of the year

  • The Secrets She Keeps (Michael Robotham, Hachette)

Literary fiction book of the year

  • See What I Have Done (Sarah Schmidt, Hachette)

General nonfiction book of the year

  • The Trauma Cleaner (Sarah Krasnostein, Text)

Biography of the year

  • Working Class Man (Jimmy Barnes, HarperCollins)

Book of the year for older children (ages 13+)

  • Begin, End, Begin: A #LoveOzYA Anthology (ed by Danielle Binks, HarperCollins)

Book of the year for younger children (ages 7-13)

  • Nevermoor (Jessica Townsend, Lothian)

Children’s picture book of the year (ages 0-6)

  • No One Likes a Fart (Zoë Foster Blake, Viking)

Illustrated book of the year

  • Maggie’s Recipe for Life (Maggie Beer & Ralph Martins, A Julie Gibbs Book for Simon & Schuster)

Matt Richell Award for new writer of the year

  • Nevermoor (Jessica Townsend, Lothian)

Small publishers’ adult book of the year

  • The Australian Bird Guide (Peter Menkhorst, Danny Rogers, Rohan Clarke et al, CSIRO Publishing)

Small publishers’ children’s book of the year

  • It’s OK to Feel the Way You Do (Josh Langley, Big Sky Publishing)

International Book of the Year

  • Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls (Elena Favilli & Francesca Cavallo, Particular Books)

Audiobook of the year

  • The 91-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, narrated by Stig Wemyss, Bolinda)

ABIA Rising Star of the Year

  • Shalini Kunahlan, marketing manager, Text

As previously reported by Books+Publishing, independent bookseller and Indigenous literacy advocate Suzy Wilson was presented with the Lloyd O’Neil Award for service to the Australian book industry, and Working Title Press publisher Jane Covernton received the Pixie O’Harris Award for service to Australian children’s literature.

The awards were selected from shortlists announced in April by a panel of industry figures, publishers and booksellers.



Category: Awards Local news